Tags

, , , , , ,

I wonder.  Do bosses have the right to mistreat employees, emotionally abuse them, and utterly humiliate them, be it in public or private?  I understand that they are the boss; they sign the paychecks, the place of business is his, or hers, and what they say – goes!  But is there no limit to, or any law against how a boss (a human being) treats an employee (another human being)?

I only ask because of how (I hear) my boss treats my co-workers.  I haven’t had the pleasure [or displeasure] of working with her yet; our schedules are different; but just listening to my co-workers describe the horror stories, I can’t believe a Boss could get away with such maltreatment of the women that work for her.

Some months ago, I got a taste of how appalling and cruel she could be, even from a distance; and immediately labeled her the “She Ebenezer!”  I was new there, at the boutique, hired to run the check-out counter, and was just learning the ropes they go by and feeling nervous about it, since I wanted to do things right.  A customer came in with an exchange, and somehow I forgot to tax her, $1.77 [that’s one dollar and seventy-seven cents]!  Payday rolled around, and the manager comes to me with my pay in hand, and says, “Chris, I’m so sorry, but Pat penalized you for your error the other day.”  Knowing precisely the “error” that I made, I asked her: “How much?” and she answers, “A whole $13.00!”

“A…whole, what?”  I thought I heard her wrong, but I didn’t.  “You mean to tell me that for one dollar and seventy-seven cents, she penalized me thirteen dollars.”  The manager nodded agreeably, and embarrassed.

Well, I can’t begin to describe the series of mixed emotions that sprung in me; the list would be too long to write it out!  I felt like telling the manager to return my pay to the boss-lady and tell her to use it as toilet paper.  I felt like calling her myself and telling her what a money-monger, beast, she is!  I even felt tempted to take something of her’s from the store, just to see if that would give me some sort of satisfaction, cause she was getting away with far too much abuse of power and mischief.  I was that mad and revolted; that someone in her position; with all the vast wealth she has; would do something like this, to anybody, over a $1.77 mistake.

Of course, I refuse to steal; no one might see me, but God surely is, watching me.  So, the next best thing, to have, done, was to let it go; learn from my mistake; be more alert at the counter; and simply view the boss as the She Ebenezer!  For, actually, “she” stole from me: a whole $11.23; my “error” was an accident; her’s was downright thievery, and unfair play.  And it isn’t as if I couldn’t pay my bills, for lacking $1.77…there’s a principle behind this.  In the final analysis, I could think about all of this, and, in my heart of hearts, say to her, You’re not, the boss of me, and really mean it.

I only wish my coworkers would find a better way to deal with the effects that this woman has on them, and not become so brokenhearted and upset every time the boss opens her mouth to dismantle them.

