Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

This title, “You Are What You Think”  can produce a world of topics.  I would like to narrow it down to just my thought-life and the various effects it has on me.  These days, more and more, the idea of “positive” thinking seems to sprout all around us; I see it on Facebook, all the time: from New Age thinking to The Secret, which really was no big “secret” since the Bible had already been encouraging us to “renew our minds.”

Well, I would like to know why that [positive thinking… renewal of the mind, etc.] seems such a difficult task for me to do.  This is why I’m blogging it.  Perhaps something useful will come to me and turn my thinking around again!  Already I know the power of thoughts and words; I have seen these manifest in my life, precisely the way that I formed them, beforehand, in my head!

Back when I was miserable in my marriage, I was folding laundry one day and was giving voice to my thoughts, quietly saying, “I want him to meet somebody with whom he has a lot in common.  Let her have loads of money since he loves money so much; let her love sports since he loves sports; and let her be a drinker since he so loves alcohol!”  And wouldn’t you know it, that’s exactly what occurred!  They ended up getting married 7 days after he and I divorced.

Lately, things aren’t going down that way for me.  And, believe me; I have tried everything I could to experience an entirely new picture in my life.  I have grabbed hold of the book, “The Secret” and read it, cover to cover, several times!  I’ve recited, and pondered, the Scriptures that I mostly hold dear; I have listened, intently, to my favorite Bible teachers; Joyce Meyer, Joel Osteen, Creflo Dollar; but to no avail: things stay the same; barren and dried up!  And I don’t understand it!

To me, it feels it’s become a tiring task, to “think” my preferred life into existence.  It’s been like giving birth; you push and push, and nothing happens!  After a while, it gets frustrating and disillusioning, and causes me to want to give up and just live with…what is!  I’ve sat down to look at this problem, and I must admit, my mind is a bit muddled, a little scattered with many thoughts lying around everywhere.  Much like you would see of a scarce but sloppy home; and that’s become a concern for me.  I love order and tidiness and luxurious things, so why my thought-life is behaving that way, and my physical life matching it, is the mystery to me!

Perhaps all I need is to get away from it all, with pen and paper, for a long time, and just begin to jot down [create] the picture that I want to live.  Something has to give, and it just might be that, this time, my life will change for the better!

I know that I’m not alone in this problem nor should feel ashamed of it.  This scripture confirms it, for me:  “Therefore humble yourselves [demote, lower yourselves in your own estimation] under the mighty hand of God, that in due time He may exalt you. Casting the whole of your care [all your anxieties, all your worries, all your concerns, once and for all] on Him, for He cares for you affectionately and cares about you watchfully.” (1 Peter 5: 6-7 Amp)

We can’t argue the facts: you are what you think!  So, what are we… thinking…?

