Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

…”What is truth, if not that which is in the eye of the beholder.” -Christina L. Ibbotson.  There.  I created my very own quote. And I don’t mind sharing it and explaining what I mean by it.

Everyone has his and her own sense about what “truth” is, and those opinions come pouring out…from just about every mouth on earth that speaks. Religions, in its many forms and sectors, each have something to say about truth, as they see it. Society, in its every walk-of-life has something to say about truth, as they see it. But when I lay me down to sleep at night, my truth is my own, my truth differs from what is yours, and eventually even that truth of mine undergoes an overhaul and a complete turnaround.

What is true today may not be true tomorrow. What was truth in my childhood was untrue in my adulthood. And, on and on, our truth changes as life evolves us according to who each of us are. We all may appear to be formed by one cookie-cutter; dressing the same, speaking the same, and acting the same as the various clicks with which we acquaint ourselves; but deep down inside of each of us, in that secret place reserved only for our self and our Maker, no two people are alike. Hence, why truth is in the eye of the beholder.

And the truth shall set you free!

Do not be shaped by this world. Instead be changed within by a new way of thinking. Then you will be able to decide what God wants for you. And you will be able to know what is good and pleasing to God and what is perfect.” Romans 12:2

We’re always looking to change something about our lives, our appearances, and our approach to things. That is because we seek to answer the calling that we hear, feel, yearn for and experience within us. We are constantly developing, progressing, advancing, and are rarely satisfied with the existing state of affairs. But how far do we really get, if the renewal doesn’t commence with our mind, first?  I can change my clothes ten times in one sitting, but if I don’t feel good about myself, I won’t be comfortable even in my own skin.

The renewal of self must begin its journey from within, in our thought life, our outlook on life, and it must be buffered, cushioned and polished by love, otherwise we’re a lovely instrument outwardly, but discordant and frazzled inwardly. We look to others for their opinion, approval or acceptance of us, and yet discard, ignore, or don’t even know our own inner person, our higher self. That part of us that, eternal, lives protected, hugely favored, enjoying the very freedom and complete abundance we’ve only just begun to recognize we would like to have some of, and is ever so willing to draw us up to itself, for the sake of our fully experiencing its unaltered bliss.

What are each of us waiting for, before we get to undergo the occurrences we so dream about in our waking hours? Create a good opinion of yourself and follow your bliss. Know all of this, and the truth shall set you free.

