Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Giving leads to receiving…  I was sitting here pondering my life, and asking myself if I’m truly a giver, and, if so, how much and how well do I give? So much talk about “giving” seems to be following me around, a lot lately. Be it, in the books I’m reading; or in the observations, I do, of other people and their exchanges between give & take. Or in the memories I hold; of those few in my past who had accused me of not giving nearly as much as I took! Or in the very “receiving” that I experience or don’t experience. Giving makes you think!

In answering my own question, I was thinking about the lives I touched with my giving… I gave of my time, my heart, my pure and helpful thoughts, my love, my solidarity, my home, and of my money. In some cases, I fully emptied myself out, so that I put the recipient/s first, and oftentimes gave from my poverty, because I wasn’t more important than they were. In some instances, it is called “sacrifice,” and I did a whole lot of that, in my day!

I never really minded giving, of my self and of my things, and I still love doing so. I like to see people happy, and if I can be the cause of their happiness, why not! I also understand how relief feels, and if I’m good enough to receive relief, so is anyone else whom I can help. And, to-be-honest, I never was one to give and then expect the recipient to give same back to me. I learned early in life never to do that; it’s been done to me before and I hated how demeaning it feels and how obligatory the “giving” became! I am conscious never to do my giving that way, and if ever I must remind someone of the ways in which I gave, to him or her, it is usually out of noticing a mutual agreement, or a contract, breached. Otherwise, I give [freely] because it makes me happy, it helps the other person, and my giving leads to receiving.

How anybody could say of me that I took, more than I gave, still baffles me. Then again, it doesn’t surprise me that [those] people would say such a thing, to anybody, after giving; it reveals their style of giving. They’ll give to you, but with an eye set on what you’ll give them in return. That’s not “true giving,” –that’s tit-for-tat and carries very little value!

Let each one [give] as he has made up his own mind and purposed in his heart, not reluctantly or sorrowfully or under compulsion, for God loves (He takes pleasure in, prizes above other things, and is unwilling to abandon or to do without) a cheerful (joyous, “prompt to do it”) giver [whose heart is in his giving] (2 Cor. 9:7)

Saved, for such a time as this, Jesus’ instructions besides outlines the art of giving, as well as assures us how giving leads to receiving. In Luke 6: 33-36, Jesus said, “If you do good to those who do good to you, what credit is that to you? For even sinners do the same. If you lend [money] to those from whom you expect to receive [it back], what credit is that to you? Even sinners lend to sinners expecting to receive back the same amount. But love [that is, unselfishly seek the best or higher good for] your enemies, and do good, and lend, expecting nothing in return; for your reward will be great (rich, abundant), and you will be sons of the Most High; because He Himself is kind and gracious and good to the ungrateful and the wicked. Be merciful (responsive, compassionate, tender) just as your [heavenly] Father is merciful.

When giving to others, give as though you are rich and wealthy, knowing that what you gave helped somebody and also will come back to you. If all you have is $1.00 in your pocket, and someone needs 50 cents; give that half to the person, without hesitation, judgment, or regret. Refuse to spoil your giving or to hinder your receiving, by hesitating, judging the one in need, or regretting what leftover remains for you. Be not afraid of being a cheerful giver, you have nothing to lose but everything to gain. And, definitely, once you give that someone that something, turn away from expecting it back from the hand that received it. Disengage yourself from it altogether, for you are set to “receive” for your giving, from a different source.

Don’t pick on people, jump on their failures, criticize their faults—unless, of course, you want the same treatment. Don’t condemn those who are down; that hardness can boomerang. Be easy on people; you’ll find life a lot easier. Give away your life; you’ll find life given back, but not merely given back—given back with bonus and blessing. Giving, not getting, is the way. Generosity begets generosity. ~Jesus

Sometimes, you won’t ever hear from the recipients of your giving, and usually right when you [yourself] may be in need. Life gets hectic and keeps them busy. They’ve gone onto a different path, and life, as we know, is piling up their day with new situations, events, and people, just as it does for the rest of us. Is this cause for you or I to sit there, feeling “taken” or forgotten? Does it make you believe that you were only “as good as the moment” when they needed you? If so, your “giving” then bore motives. You gave with an expectation and tacked on them the “You owe me!” sticker. If you’re finding yourself in need, check your giving. For it never fails that giving leads to receiving, and receiving is a sure sign that you have been, giving.

Give, and it will be given to you. A good measure, pressed down, shaken together and running over, will be poured into your lap. For with the measure you use, it will be measured to you.

