Tags

, , , , , ,

CovetingHave you ever looked at someone’s personal belongings and wished that you owned them? We all have done it, so don’t play inculpable.  🙂

I was guilty of coveting my neighbors’ goods, for a very long time and due to certain circumstances that had me possessing a whole lot less objects than most people have. The nicer homes, the nicer cars, the nicer clothes, the good marriage, the happier families, the wealthier persons, the better careers, the finer foods, the opulent vacations, etc.  You name it, I wished I had it!

10th CommandmentI began noticing this “sin” as far back as my adolescent years.  It always appeared to me that others had things I had only wished I could have!  And this wanting, of what I lacked, followed me around for years.  But now I know where the coveting stemmed from and why I coveted the goods that others owned.

In my immaturity, and aside with my circumstances, I coveted my neighbors’ goods because I had limited thinking, a mindset that hadn’t expanded beyond that which I only knew.

I saw the universe as being very small and everything in it as rationed solely to certain people, the wealthy ones.  I assumed that I couldn’t have the things I wanted because I needed to be as wealthy as were the people who were living with abundance.

This mindset got to be so bad that before long, I was believing that I would never obtain or achieve anything that my heart desired and that I should just give up dreaming and wishing and hoping.  In fact, I allowed myself to go as far as to rationalize that if my mother’s relatives, who live in Cuba, are stifled by lack, then I should stop being so “greedy” and desiring of any goods!  Wanting to succeed, and to possess some goods, actually made me feel guilty…and undeserving, as if I was being selfish for wanting nice things, and not entitled to have them.

Of course, I battled with that viewpoint as well. It wasn’t sitting right with me, so I began the process of elimination. My relatives in Cuba, I said to myself, are undergoing their difficulty thanks to their Leader Castro. If Castro weren’t in charge over there, and those natives had more freedom of enterprise and commerce, my relatives too would have an abundance of goods at their disposal. I live, and was born in the United States, and in my country we function under capitalism. Then I took this thinking a bit further and widened it beyond the scope of limitation, under which I’d been functioning and suffering.

I realized that the universe and God are much, much larger than I understood and are on my side. I learned also that I create my own experiences, that I am co-creator in and of my life. That, in God’s realms, there is no such thing as shortage, and that I may create and manifest anything my heart desires.

Coveting our neighbors’ goods is wrong, when all we need to do is simply ask and then receive. There is plenty of goods to go around, and, if not, as “creators” we can will our wants to us. No one needs to live with lack, especially since we each are capable of thinking our wants into the realm of having.

This new line of thinking takes practice and calls for patience. There is more good at our disposal than we realize, but we have to be very clear about our wants, otherwise we end up with a lot of what we don’t want. There is no way that God would ignore those of us who are disabled or unemployed, this is irrelevant to Him and the universe since what each of Them look at is the strength of the faith that we transmit whence asking for those blessings.

Persons who lack this knowledge, and the faith required, have to work their a$$e$ off for the things they acquire, otherwise they won’t have them. But what of those of us who have no job? We need only know what we want, strengthen the faith that draws it to us, and watch it in marvel as it all arrives and unfolds right before our very eyes.

For a while, I was thinking that this line of thinking was wacky. But having to put it into practice myself, I know that it works! God is no deceiver and his Word never returns to him void. He said, ask and you shall receive. Therefore, coveting our neighbors’ goods isn’t only wrong, but also a pure waste of precious time and a great loss of fun and excitement.

In your quest to try this, start out small; ask for simple things, trusting that you’ll receive them. As that begins to come your way, start then to increase your asking; you may have to wait a little longer at this higher junction, but don’t give up; continue to trust that it is yours. Put this to the test, but, above all, cease coveting your neighbors’ goods. You have a storehouse of stuff labeled with your name on it, begin gently but affirmatively calling those things over to you. Reach in, and take what is yours. We walk by faith, not by sight. Call those things [that be not] as though they were. You are God’s child, you therefore deserve them.

