Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

Beliefs

As a Christian, I have undergone a major transformation of my beliefs, that I think may be helpful to many when they read this thorough essay. I’m aware nevertheless, from experience, that some people might gladly engage this topic while others might not bother at all. Either way and with due respect, it makes no difference to me. My ultimate goal isn’t about the kudos, I may or may not gain. At the end of the day, two things are true: the transformation of my beliefs is my personal experience in this world; and, as a writer with a social platform, I follow my bliss anyways, I write what I know, can always come back to it for enlightenment, and that is good enough to keep me happy!

But, speaking of happy, for a very long time, I wasn’t experiencing happiness, not even while being a Christian, which disturbed me the deepest. I instead was feeling rather lost and miserable, and oftentimes cried out to the Lord, with forceful demand, “I want my joy back!” I had lost all sense of joy, even as God’s beautiful Word sought to impress upon me: “Do not grieve, for the joy of the Lord is your strength.” (Nehemiah 8:10. Emphasis mine)  God was joyful, and, from what I could see, other people too seemed to be full of joy, but not me!

Something was terribly amiss in my life, flawed, and gone awry in my Christian walk with God. In my misery, I began feeling disconnected from God, and from myself, more often than not. And I was finding that my “faith” was being heavily attacked; it was malfunctioning, weak, frail, and useless when I needed it the most to get me through my various and taxing circumstances.

All of this created such worry and despair in me! Especially since I had previously known so much of God’s Word and personally been able to conquer and overcome other equally strenuous battles, but, this time; was noticing that all of my efforts were becoming an exercise in futility! I repented for all of my sins and believed that God forgave me! I prayed for help, and prayed, and prayed some more! I put in check my attitudes and behaviors; and still found myself lacking this something that I was yearning to experience, this “power” that was missing but that I emphatically needed, required, and wanted!

If I never screamed for a breakthrough, for a rebirth of my personhood, believe me; still battling in this warfare, I bellowed for one, the loudest from my soul! And even then; aside of feeling a tad relieved, for letting the torment out of my system in my resounding bellow! That feeling of unsettlement still remained with me. And overshadowed all of my former collection of beliefs, rendering them valuable but insufficient, for what would ultimately liberate me, in this transformation of my beliefs. Indeed, the Bible holds truths, when God said:

My people are destroyed from lack of knowledge.” (Hosea 4:6)

Oh! But then came the breakthrough, and its truth set me free!

law-of-attraction-what-youre-going-to-ATTACT

The New Age Movement and introduction of Law of Attraction surfaced in my life, and made a whole lot of sense to me! I cannot be more thankful and grateful for this new movement, nor be more impressed by the rise of those Teachers that march forward in this world as Beacons of Light, shining awakenings where there once was so much darkness in my compact and stifled Christian life.

Be advised though that there, of course, seems to be a high criticism of the New Age movement by the Roman Catholic Church and the other sectors of organized religion, whereby they claim that New Age is incompatible with and hostile to the core beliefs of Christianity.

I beg to differ!

No pun intended; to each his own and God with everybody’s! But God, in his vast mercy and love for mankind, and within His Word (the Bible), surely has tried to bring humanity to its rightful divinity and higher state of consciousness, right from the beginning. And if the Church/s could have its way, we’d all be kept as stumped prisoners within the confines of religious limitation.

Religion, the Church [in any branch] isn’t up-to-speed or in alignment with the totality of God’s Perspective on his most beloved creation: human beings! God, in his profound love, did not bring about a physical world containing physical bodies of human beings so that our growth consist only of the aging process. We are more than just fleshy shells with money in our pockets. We are spirit, foremost and above anything else. We, much like the Trinity, and created in the image and likeness of God, for a darn good reason are dimensional in God’s creation of us. But try telling that to the Churches, that immediately we’ll see some of them all up-in-arms about it!

No wonder that these religions feel that the New Age movement is incompatible with and hostile to the core beliefs of Christianity. This Movement, though misunderstood, takes it upon itself to bring the masses a great percentage closer to God, and away from the hands of the smaller minded gods that run the churches! And, for that, the New Age movement is rather despised.

The Church, any branch, if you haven’t noticed, and by its own decision, seems to be here only to focus on the physical aspect of humans and to curtail our behavior, our conduct in society, and our spiritual growth. And willfully implements its own manmade proposition that serves as the foundation for its own system of belief, and instills its own code of standards and ideology, into those who, overcome and blinded by all of this outward religiosity, sit there in those pews like clumps of clay, disallowing the expansion of his and her own self to match with what God (opposed to religion) intended and actually prefers!

Let’s talk about an area of our humanity that the Church or a certain Bible teacher would rather that we not rely on:

Feelings

In my Christianity, I was led to believe that “feelings” are fickle and unreliable; that they change from day to day and have the potential to lead us astray if we were to go with or follow how we feel. We were to have a base of knowledge, enough biblical information that it would get us to come to know what God expects of our behavior if we were to see any of his favor and promises unfold, and of our devotion to “right living.”  I believed this thing about our feelings going discounted, so emphatically that I even blogged about it in my earlier writings, hoping to get everyone else to comprehend this issue, and did what I could to seize my own feelings, kill them down altogether, and live only by head-knowledge.

Well, guess what happened to me for going with that misguidance!

Unaware, of how crucial “feelings” actually are to our spiritual survival; and unaware that God actually created for us the additional internal mechanism, physical sensations not connected with sight, hearing, taste, or smell, by which to gauge our journey toward complete and utter well-being, which IS what God wants for all of us! And unaware that He set into place as well what is now a very real force in this world: the “Law of Attraction,” I was dying a slow spiritual death, suffering immensely the turmoil of jumbled and suppressed emotions, and perpetually attracting more of the same hell into my life for lack of this knowledge!

Sure, both the Bible and the Churches bring up the concept of “reap what you sow” –but it took the sensible concepts of the New Age movement and awareness of the functions of law of attraction for me to appreciate and grasp this much-needed ingredient to help with the wonderful transformation of my beliefs and bring me 100% closer to God.

Religion never taught me these and other relative truths; and the New Age movement, together with how the law of attraction works in our lives, by my Christian understanding, is far from hostile to the core beliefs of Christianity! If anything, it is something that the Churches should examine and embrace when that Movement indeed has known to throw open the doors to God our Source, using God’s own Word! And paved the way to showing us individually how and why God created us, and how it is that each one of us closes the huge gap between our physical self and our nonphysical self; we are, after all, spirit too, are we not? And how it is that we grow and expand into that Oneness with God and with ourselves, that we then, allegedly revering God’s Word, might understand God’s original plan and expectations of us.

Does not Romans 12:2, for instance, say, “Do not conform to the pattern of this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind. Then you will be able to test and approve what God’s will is—his good, pleasing and perfect will”? It does indeed.

To me, “the pattern of this world” therein that scripture indicates is relating to and headed by all of the Religions in this world. In Politics, all around the world too, there is very little talk of God; bear in mind the separation of church and state. But, in Religion… where all “talk of God” reigns [slightly], that is “the pattern” in this world from which we must get ourselves out from under and not conform to, –if we’re going to encounter, know and approve what God’s will is, and experience the renewal of our mind, and be hence transformed by that renewing of the mind, heart, soul, and spirit.

Indeed, it is crucial, that we prayerfully study the Bible; that we learn it, soak up as much of it as we possibly can, ponder it, research it, examine it, and remember it; and that we get and have, at least somewhat of, a personal relationship with God and Christ Jesus in the process, ourselves. So that when the time comes, and it will, that WE find ourselves lost and embattled; with our lives and our feelings in chaos and not helping us for suppressing them! And we go presented with new [non-religious, but Universal] concepts and ideas; that sound really good and liberating to us! We not be fooled into thinking that, to have that contemporary renewal, we must let go of God and Jesus and our Christianity; for it be impossible to do that anyways! But rather be able, with all of your biblical knowledge, to especially compare the two sides, draw from each Presentation what best works for you, and like this go on your merry way to experience God and life in all of their fullness!

I haven’t had this much fun, with God on my side, in a long time, while, in His Presence, experimenting with the law of attraction and challenging myself to “call those things [that be not] as though they were!” -because that is what God asks us to do.

For God did not give us a spirit of timidity or cowardice or fear, but [He has given us a spirit] of power and of love and of sound judgment and personal discipline [abilities that result in a calm, well-balanced mind and self-control]. (2 Timothy 1:7 Amp)

The Beacons of Light, as I call them, in essence, are life-savers; where the heads of Religion, in essence, and unfortunately, are but a bunch of unwise Pharisees, scribes, and silly leaders. How they can still remain and maintain themselves inside the compact confines of antiquated religion; a cultural system of behaviors and practices, worldviews, ethics, and social organization that just doesn’t produce [enough] good fruit anywhere! And rush, as they do, to keep their congregation stuck in there with them, while they spew forth that the New Age movement is hostile, in the face of new age, is truly beyond me now.

The universe has shifted from Religion to Spirituality, from talks of the kingdom of God and heaven to actual Kingdom living while on the earth, because this, in fact, is a new age and modern world, and everyone is just fed up and tired of suffering. If God is, said to be, the same yesterday, today, and forever (see Hebrews 13:8) then why are the religious people so afraid and uptight to explore these other new horizons, alongside their church? Is God and Jesus not going to be over there? What are they afraid of, really? I remember what scared me at first. It was the idea or warped notion that, if I looked into that sphere of new perspective, it might indicate that I, who always said am a Christian, was abandoning God and Christianity altogether and running off with the freaks of New Age thinking. And that is not what I was aiming to do, nor was I required to choose, one or the other. I was vying to please God, to understand him better than in previous times, and to grow spiritually and rightly for my own sake. But, like He is with you, God is with me also everywhere that I go; I noticed it every step of my life; and He has actually smiled widely and affectionately at me, now that I took a chance and learned the meaning of this scripture:

Without faith it is impossible to [walk with God and] please Him, for whoever comes [near] to God must [necessarily] believe that God exists and that He rewards those who [earnestly and diligently] seek Him. (Hebrews 11:6 Amp)

Until now, that I have undergone the transformation of my beliefs and embraces this new understanding, I had despicable faith! I, in my former beliefs, was classic example of this next scripture:

Among those nations you will find no peace (rest), and there will be no resting place for the sole of your foot; but there the Lord will give you a trembling heart, failing eyes, and a despairing soul. Your life will hang in doubt before you; night and day you will be filled with anxiety and have no assurance of living. In the morning you will say, ‘I wish it were evening!’ and in the evening you will say, ‘I wish it were morning!’—because of the dread in your heart with which you tremble, and because of the sight of your eyes which you will see. (Deut. 28:65-67 Amp)

Here, the “Among those nations” [nations] to me referred to religions, and the “but there” [the Lord will give you no resting place] -was the unnecessary place for me to be in; and, staying in it, I assure you resulted in the final outcome, that we see within that scripture. In other words, if I may personalize it: “Among those religions you will find no peace (rest); but remaining there you will experience a trembling heart, failing eyes, and a despairing soul. Your life will hang in doubt before you; night and day you will be filled with anxiety and have no assurance of living. In the morning, you will say, ‘I wish it were evening!’ and in the evening, you will say, ‘I wish it were morning!’—because of the dread in your heart with which you tremble, and because of the sight of your eyes which you will see.” All of which translates to my full-on experience with religions and the spiritual growth that I was not gaining from it.

In that vein, I was more like this next example:

But he must ask [for wisdom] in faith, without doubting [God’s willingness to help], for the one who doubts is like a billowing surge of the sea that is blown about and tossed by the wind. For such a person ought not to think or expect that he will receive anything [at all] from the Lord, being a double-minded man, unstable and restless in all his ways [in everything he thinks, feels, or decides]. (James 1:6-9 Amp)

I notice the word “feels” in that scripture’s last sentence: double-minded, unstable and restless… in everything he thinks, feels, or decides. I suffered all of that, but what I did come to acknowledge and appreciate is how beautifully God works all things together for the good of those who love him, and how perfectly his Word rings forth:

But God has selected [for His purpose] the foolish things of the world to shame the wise [revealing their ignorance], and God has selected [for His purpose] the weak things of the world to shame the things which are strong [revealing their frailty]. (1 Corinthians 1:27 Amp)

To break it down: God has selected [for His purpose] the foolish things of the world (from a religious standpoint: the New Age movement) to shame the wise (Religious leaders) [revealing their ignorance], and God has selected [for His purpose] the weak things of this world (from a religious standpoint: persons such as myself) to shame the things which are strong (Religions) [revealing their frailty].

God is spirit [the Source of life, yet invisible to mankind], and those who worship Him must worship in spirit and truth,” declares John 4:24, most of which religion is lacking, but the New Age thinkers are thriving in, successfully. Somehow, we need to close those gaps too and welcome more truth and spirit into our lives in the new age because everyone deserves the opportunity to experience God, life, and self, the way that God originally intended.

Here is a scale of the “emotional guidance” not offered to me in any of the Catholic/Christian teachings I have sat through for 36 years of my life. On the contrary, because GOD our Source loves us, he wants us to [fully] experience happiness, so look at the scale and examine where you find yourself today in relation to your feelings…

EmotionalGuidanceScale

But notice that joy, love, and freedom, way up on top, also being “feelings” that God created, is where you, me, and everyone else consistently belong, whether wealthy or poor. And not wallowing hopelessly within any of the levels below contentment, or worse near the red-hot numbers, while in church or at home!

Your feelings are in you to guide you; they also are so vibrational they have a direct impact outside of you as well as inside of you. Have you ever been so angry that you tremor, and the people around you, who see it and feel it, look on at you in wait and observe? Or so startled, that your skin actually quickly grows cold, and, upon some relief, then tingles…? That is “vibration” running through and out of your body; which, religion never explained: the “law of attraction,” magnetic in its own right, picks-up-on too, and, being here to serve God and you, gives you precisely what your “vibration” asks for. If you’re constantly feeling a certain way, (look at the scale now), just know then that vibrationally you will be attracting more of the same for keeping yourself in that particular set of sensation. Up and down the scale, it works both ways.

If all manner of knowledge went stripped from us, and all we have, is our instincts, we would still sense the difference between unhappy feelings and happy feelings. If GOOD is the condition that you prefer to experience, but anything below Contentment is your reality, then make a concerted effort to challenge yourself to reach higher up the scale for a kinder feeling; follow your heart but use your mind.

Consider, that whichever end of the scale you are functioning in, the longer you remain in it the wider that feeling is expanding and the greater the return of same will be.  It is your divine right to close the breach between your mortal you <-and-> immortal you. Your mortal you, lacking this knowledge, sits often below Contentment, in constant struggle. The immortal you knows only the very top portion of the scale within you, and calls you toward it and draws you upward to expand into the real you that you really are. In this world, our body grows old, decays, and dies; but, with us, whether we’re here or in heaven, always is our spirit-self: the eternal, young, vivacious, healthy, wealthy, and happy you, that requires your attention/cooperation. Therefore, let your feelings be your guide on your way up the scale, because, truth is, not one of us ever wants to suffer the negative emotions that drown us in darkness.

In my case, it took the New Age movement and understanding of the Law of Attraction, coupled with God’s Word which I hold so dear, for me to grow up and mature in my Christianity, within Christ Jesus, where I gladly underwent the transformation of my beliefs and began learning how to haul my mortal self straight up the scale to perfect alignment with my truer self and with God my Maker. In light of this subject, I am thrilled to find that, in Mark 11:24, Jesus had already beforehand instructed us on how to attract unto ourselves whatever we ask for!

loa-jesus

 

 

