Tags

, , , , , ,

Gods-word

By the looks of the condition the world is in lately, I venture to say that we’ve grown a Godless society! Greed, selfishness, hatred, racial division, crime, lust, envy, fear, anxiety, uncertainties, dysfunctional  families, drug abuse, alcoholism, terrorism, poverty and financial hardship, and much more SIN than that, running rampant, seems to have become a way of life for many people! And yet, mixed in with all of this, are persons who, in some way, allege to believe in God. How seriously do you take God’s Word?

With everything, that is going on, it’s easy to fall prey to those circumstances and lose sight of God in the midst. It’s easy to believe that we’re doomed…that it’s “too late” for improvement, no way of turning this madness around, because it’s up to each individual, in any religion, to choose wholesomeness; and all there is, is an impasse, with neither God nor mankind stepping up and rendering us a better life.

Some of what’s going on perturb me, at times. It robs me of peace, makes me feel insecure, worried, frightened, and caught in a trap! And I have to fight hard to hold fast to the belief that God is in control, that He loves me , wants the very best for me, and that I may continue exercising my faith in Him, in spite of the dangers lurking about in this world!

I fight the good fight of faith. When pressed from all sides, I stop myself in my tracks, recall that God’s Word is nothing to take lightly; I apologize to Him for disbelieving Him and then remind myself that God is no liar: that I may (and should) take Him at His Word and His Word at face value. I need not revere the way of the world. I need not worry about anything when God is here to help me!

God tells us these wonderful things:

  • Therefore I tell you, stop being worried or anxious (perpetually uneasy, distracted) about your life, as to what you will eat or what you will drink; nor about your body, as to what you will wear. Is life not more than food, and the body more than clothing? Look at the birds of the air; they neither sow [seed] nor reap [the harvest] nor gather [the crops] into barns, and yet your heavenly Father keeps feeding them. Are you not worth much more than they? And who of you by worrying can add one hour to [the length of] his life?” Matthew 6:25-34
  • Do not be anxious or worried about anything, but in everything [every circumstance and situation] by prayer and petition with thanksgiving, continue to make your [specific] requests known to God.”  Philippians 4:6
  • For this reason, I am telling you, whatever things you ask for in prayer [in accordance with God’s will], believe [with confident trust] that you have received them, and they will be given to you.” Mark 11:24

But…how seriously do you take God’s Word? Think on that!

