Chapter 13

Hotel Suite ComboI got to the hotel 2-hours early and disappeared into the Suite I had previously booked. I wanted to unload my overnight luggage and contact Grace to wake her from her nap. Except, Grace surprised me when she answered and told me that she awoke earlier, showered already, and is raring to go! What a relief!

I informed her that a limo would be at her house shortly, with the small group of aides who would help her with the makeup, the hairdo, and the costume that she had chosen.

Grace was so happy to know that I am here to support her and thanked me profusely. She assured me that she’d gone over her show notes but added that she feels silly doing a “one woman” performance. I chuckled and promised her that she would be fine. I then let off the phone with Grace and placed a call to Ashly, asking my event planner if she’s at the hotel. She’s in the Blue Room, and so I headed there.

Gabriel AdamsGabriel Adams… is nowhere in sight, which begs to borrow the question: is that good or bad? At least if he were nearby, I could keep an eye on him and make sure that he doesn’t “crash the party”! Otherwise, unless I find him, there’s no way of knowing where he is, what he’s doing, or what’ll happen if Grace bumps into him!

I still would like to pair them up, since Gabriel really liked Grace; but this must be on Grace’s terms, not mine. For now, Grace is adamant that she wants to avoid Gabriel and I will honor that stance.

Besides, my other friend, Steven Rutherford, the book publisher, accepted my personalSteven invite to this dinner party. I should find it much easier to introduce him to Grace. I just hope that Grace likes him. He’s everything that she described (about her taste in men) when she was having that tantrum over the hip height Robert Bisset.

This “meet & greet” might go well; because I never mentioned him to Grace, and I made sure never to mention Grace’s name to Steven. Grace is already too ashamed of what’s happened with Bisset and it wouldn’t be right for me to publicize her connection to the fiasco. On that note, let me go find Ashly and make sure that everything is in working order…