Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

 

James 1:6-8

Amplified Bible (AMP)

Only it must be in faith that he asks with no wavering (no hesitating, no doubting). For the one who wavers (hesitates, doubts) is like the billowing surge out at sea that is blown hither and thither and tossed by the wind.  For truly, let not such a person imagine that he will receive anything [he asks for] from the Lord.  [For being as he is] a man of two minds (hesitating, dubious, irresolute), [he is] unstable and unreliable and uncertain about everything [he thinks, feels, decides].

________________________________________________________________

Pondering that image, I imagine that God must find it really difficult to give us what we ask for, when we are double-minded.  Yes, I believe!  No, I don’t!  Well, maybe I can!  Just thinking about the wavering, the tug-a-war makes me dizzy.

We may ask for whatever we want; but if we’re going to change our minds [or doubt that we’ll receive it], we might as well not bother asking for anything.  I am so guilty of this wish-washy mindset.  In defense of my self though, I have to say it’s because I’ve not always gotten what I’ve asked for, even though I earnestly believed I was receiving it, and thus, the training: to doubt and hesitate, and be irresolute, uncertain and indecisive!  Oh! how disheartening that could be!

Nevertheless, the aforementioned scripture showed me something that I hadn’t realized, before now.  This part: “Only it must be in faith that he asks with no wavering (no hesitating, no doubting).”  For some reason, this tells me that God wants us as sure [in our asking and of Him] as He is in granting our heart’s desire and delivering our petitions.  It calls to me to have a closer relationship with the Lord, in this way I would get to know Him better and thereby doubt him, far less.

From here on in, when I ask God for something – I will make it a point to trust [that he heard me] and believe [that what I’ve asked for, is mine]!  And, if He doesn’t grant me my wish then it could only mean that He’s got something greater in mind for me.

Be not double-minded or be tossed by the wind…